Runner's Web
Runner's and Triathlete's Web News
Send To A friend Know someone else who's interested in running and triathlon?
Send this Runner's Web Story's URL to a friend.   Follow us on Twitter   Follow us on Facebook
Visit the FrontPage for the latest news.   |     View in Runner's Web Frame

Subscribe to stories like this

Posted: October 12, 2012  

Athletics: Nominate today for 2012 Athletics Canada awards and 2013 Hall of Fame inductees

OTTAWA - Athletics Canada officially opened today the nomination process for its 2012 Annual Awards and 2013 Hall of Fame.

Annual Award nominations must be submitted electronically before midnight on Saturday, December 1st. Nominations are welcome by all; please note that nominees must be current members of Athletics Canada. Nominations are sought for:

  • Jack W. Davies Trophy - Overall Athlete of the Year
  • Cal D. Bricker Memorial Trophy - Overall Performance of the Year
  • Phil A. Edwards Memorial Trophy - Athlete of the Year in Track Events
  • F.N.A. Rowell Trophy - Athlete of the Year in Field Events
  • Dr. Fred Tees Memorial Trophy - Top Canadian University Athlete of the Year
  • Fred Begley Memorial Trophy - Top Off-Track Athlete of the Year
  • Combined Events Award - Top Athlete in Combined Events
  • Eric E. Coy Trophy - Junior Athlete of the Year
  • Myrtle Cook Trophy - Youth Athlete of the Year
  • Para-Athlete of the Year Wheelchair Award - Outstanding Para-Athlete in Wheelchair Events
  • Para-Athlete of the Year Ambulatory Award - Outstanding Para-Athlete in Ambulatory Events
  • Coach of the Year Award - Outstanding Coach of the Year

For more information on the Annual Awards and to nominate:

Nomination Deadline for 3rd class of inductees to Athletics Canada Hall of Fame

The nomination deadline for the Hall of Fame class of 2013 is January 31, 2013.

The Athletics Canada Hall of Fame accepts nominations in each of the athlete/team, coach, builder and in memoriam categories. Nominees will be considered for induction in the year nominated, and up to two years thereafter.

To nominate visit: Hall of Fame.

For more information including eligibility:

Hall of Fame Class of 2011  

Donovan Bailey - athlete
Debbie Brill - athlete
Ethel Catherwood - in memoriam
Diane Clement - builder
Doug Clement - builder
Bill Crothers - athlete
Greg Joy - athlete
Gerard Mach - coach
Mark McKoy - athlete
André Viger - in memoriam
Percy Williams - in memoriam

Hall of Fame Class of 2012

Bob Adams - builder
Myrtle Cook - in memoriam
Charmaine Crooks - athlete
Fred Foot - in memoriam
Harry Jerome - in memoriam
Guillaume LeBlanc - athlete
Milt Ottey - athlete
Lyle Sanderson - coach
Dave Steen - athlete
Bruny Surin - athlete

Subscribe to the Runner's Web Weekly Digest
Check out our FrontPage for all the latest running and triathlon news.

Top of News
Runner's Web FrontPage