Runner's Web
Runner's and Triathlete's Web News
Send To A friend Know someone else who's interested in running and triathlon?
Send this Runner's Web Story's URL to a friend.   Follow us on Twitter   Follow us on Facebook
Visit the FrontPage for the latest news.   |     View in Runner's Web Frame

Add to Mixx! Subscribe to stories like this

Posted: December 13, 2012  

Athletics: 2013 Rock 'n' Roll Marathon Series Tour Schedule Announced

Global series of distance running festivals to feature 32 international destination events in 2013

Special online registration promotion for 12/12/12 open through midnight at RunRocknRoll.com

San Diego, Calif. -- December 12, 2012 -- Competitor Group, Inc. (CGI), the leading active lifestyle sports media and event entertainment company, today unveiled the Rock 'n' Roll Marathon Tour Schedule for the 2013 series.

The series includes 26 destinations in North America featuring scenic routes that showcase world renowned attractions including the National Mall in Washington DC and the Las Vegas Strip at night. The 2013 tour will feature 6 European cities including Nice, Edinburgh, Madrid, Oslo, Dublin and Lisbon. Online registration is open at RunRocknRoll.com with a special 24-hour 12/12/12 promotional entry available.

2013 Rock 'n' Roll Marathon Series Schedule

Sunday, Jan. 20 - P.F. Chang's Rock 'n' Roll Arizona Marathon & Half-Marathon
Sunday, Feb. 10 - Rock 'n' Roll St. Pete Half Marathon
Sunday, Feb. 17 - Rock 'n' Roll Pasadena Half Marathon benefiting CureMito!
Sunday, Feb. 17 - Rock 'n' Roll Nice 10 Miles du Carnaval
Sunday, Feb. 24 - Rock 'n' Roll New Orleans Marathon & Half-Marathon
Saturday, March 16 - Rock 'n' Roll USA Marathon & CareFirst Rock 'n' Roll Half Marathon
Sunday, March 24 - Rock 'n' Roll Dallas Half Marathon
Sunday, April 7 - Inaugural Rock 'n' Roll San Francisco Half Marathon
Sunday, April 14 - Rock 'n' Roll Edinburgh Half Marathon
Saturday, April 27 - St. Jude Country Music Marathon & Half-Marathon presented by Nissan
Sunday, April 28 - Rock 'n' Roll Madrid Maratón & 10k
Sunday, May 19 - Rock 'n' Roll Portland Half Marathon
Sunday, June 2 - Rock 'n' Roll San Diego Marathon & Half-Marathon to benefit LLS
Saturday, June 15 - Inaugural Rock 'n' Roll Oslo Half Marathon
Saturday, June 22 - Rock 'n' Roll Seattle Marathon & Half-Marathon
Sunday, July 21 - XSport Fitness Rock 'n' Roll Chicago Half Marathon
Sunday, Aug. 4 - Inaugural Rock 'n' Roll Pittsburgh Half Marathon
Monday, Aug. 5 - Inaugural Rock 'n' Roll Dublin Half Marathon
Sunday, Sept. 1 - Rock 'n' Roll Virginia Beach Half Marathon
Sunday, Sept. 15 - Rock 'n' Roll Philadelphia Half Marathon
Sunday, Sept. 22 - OASIS Rock 'n' Roll de Montreal Marathon & Half-Marathon
Sunday, Sept. 29 - Rock 'n' Roll Providence Half Marathon
Saturday, Oct. 5 - Rock 'n' Roll Cleveland Half Marathon
Sunday, Oct. 6 - Rock 'n' Roll San Jose Half Marathon
Sunday, Oct. 6* - EDP Rock 'n' Roll Lisbon Marathon & Vodafone Half Marathon
Saturday, Oct. 12 - Rock 'n' Roll Brooklyn 10k
Sunday, Oct. 20 - Sports Authority Rock 'n' Roll Denver Marathon & Half-Marathon
Sunday, Oct. 27 - TASK Rock 'n' Roll St. Louis Marathon & Half-Marathon
Sunday, Oct. 27 - Rock 'n' Roll Los Angeles Half Marathon benefiting the ASPCA
Saturday, Nov. 9 - Rock 'n' Roll Savannah Marathon & Half-Marathon
Sunday, Nov. 17 - Rock 'n' Roll Las Vegas Marathon & Half-Marathon to benefit CCFA
Sunday, Dec. 8 - Rock 'n' Roll San Antonio Marathon & Half-Marathon

* Date subject to change

Organized by Competitor Group, the Rock 'n' Roll Marathon Series is the 'World's Largest Running Series' with more than 500,000 runners taking part in destination events around the world. What started as a simple idea in 1998 — the idea of making running fun — soon transformed the U.S. running landscape by infusing the race course with live bands, cheer teams, themed water stations and then topping the experience off with a finish line concert celebration for all participants. The outdoor festivals encapsulate cities in their entirety and have spearheaded an active lifestyle movement that provides a unique entertainment outlet for people from all walks of life.

The events have also become a fundraising powerhouse for charities who have developed endurance-training programs, such as the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, St. Jude Children's Research Hospital, the ASPCA and Crohn's & Colitis Foundation of America, who have combined to raise in excess of $287 million (net) through the series since 1998.

Today, the series of entertainment themed marathons and half-marathons has spread to 32 cities around the world and continues to enjoy great appeal for the traveling runner, tremendous local support and has firmly established itself as a dynamic active lifestyle platform. For more information, or to register for an event, please visit Competitor.com or follow @RunRocknRoll on Twitter.


Subscribe to the Runner's Web Weekly Digest
Check out our FrontPage for all the latest running and triathlon news.
Facebook
Twitter


Top of News
Runner's Web FrontPage