Runner's Web
Runner's and Triathlete's Web News
Send To A friend Know someone else who's interested in running and triathlon?
Send this Runner's Web Story's URL to a friend.   Follow us on Twitter   Follow us on Facebook
Visit the FrontPage for the latest news.   |     View in Runner's Web Frame

Posted: January 27, 2022:  

(RRW) Athletics: Race Results Weekly Among 2021 RRCA Honorees

From David Monti, @d9monti
© 2022 Race Results Weekly, all rights reserved.

(26-Jan) -- Race Results Weekly is among the 14 individuals and organizations in nine categories to be selected for RRCA National Running Awards for 2021, the Road Runners Club of America announced today. The recipients will receive their awards at the RRCA National Running Awards Breakfast & Ceremony on March 19, in Orlando, Fla.

IMAGE: RRCA awards from 2018 (courtesy of RRCA)

"Since 1971, the RRCA has honored the service and dedication of outstanding leaders in the running community," read a statement from RRCA. "These individuals and organizations made significant contributions to the sport in 2021 by overseeing a return to in-person events, keeping runners engaged and motivated, and by having outstanding individual performances in races."

Race Results Weekly was chosen for the Excellence in Running Journalism Award. This marks the second time RRW has been selected for a journalism award. In 2016 RRW was given the James O. Dunaway Memorial Award for excellence in track and field journalism by the Track and Field Writers of America (TAFWA).

The full list of honorees is as follows:

Browning Ross Spirit of the RRCA Award: GOODY TYLER, RRCA Past Board Member, Nags Head, N.C.

Outstanding Club President of the Year: THOMAS HICKS, Tidewater Striders, Virginia Beach, Va.

Outstanding RRCA State Representative: MICKIE SANDERS-JAUQUET, New York State Rep

Outstanding Volunteer of the Year: JASON ARMITAGE, Spa Pacers, Hot Springs, Ark.

Outstanding Beginning Running Program: DOMINIQUE SABBS, Chicago Area Runners Association, Chicago, Ill.

Outstanding Youth Running Program: RUNNING FOR A BETTER OAKLAND, Oakland, Calif.

Road Runners of the Year: ABBABIYA SIMBASSA, Open Male; MOLLY SEIDEL, Open Female; ABDI ABDIRAHMAN, Male Master; SHALANE FLANAGAN, Female Master; SUSANNAH SCARONI, Challenged Athlete.

Communications Excellence: FREDERICK STEEPLECHASERS, Frederick, Md.

Excellence in Running Journalism: DAVID & JANE MONTI, Race Results Weekly

Road Race of the Year: GLASS CITY MARATHON, Toledo, Ohio, Clint McCormick, Race Director

Check out our FrontPage for all the latest running and triathlon news.

Top of Article
Runner's Web FrontPage