Runner's Web
Runner's and Triathlete's Web News
Send To A friend Know someone else who's interested in running and triathlon?
Send this Runner's Web Story's URL to a friend.using the MAIL button on the sidebar.   Follow us on Twitter   Follow us on Facebook
Visit the FrontPage for the latest news.   |     View in Runner's Web Frame

Posted: June 9, 2023:  

(RRW) Athletics: Guide to Saturday's Mastercard New York Mini 10-K

From David Monti, @d9monti
© 2022 Race Results Weekly, all rights reserved.

NEW YORK (09-Jun) -- With the smoke from the Canadian wildfires cleared out of the New York City area, Saturday's 51st Mastercard New York Mini 10-K is ON! Here is what you need to know about the 51st edition of the world's oldest road race for women, founded in 1972:

ELITE FIELD: Here are the leading contenders:

PHOTO: Senbere Teferi winning the 2022 Mastercard New York Mini 10-K (photo by Jane Monti for Race Results Weekly)

Here is a quick video showing the top contenders:

BROADCAST INFO: Live, FREE, global broadcast via beginning at 7:40 a.m. EDT (12:40 p.m. BST or 1:40 p.m. CEST). Broadcast link is here. Broadcast can be watched later on-demand, but only with a RunnerSpace+ or subscription.

 Open Division: $10,000-8,000-5,000-2,500-1,000-500-250
 USA Division: $5,000-2,500-1,250-750-500
 NYRR Member Division: $1,000-750-500-250-150-100
 Wheelchair Division: $2,500-1,500-1,000
USA athletes and NYRR members are also eligible to also win Open Division prize money

COURSE: USATF-certified, point-to-point route from Central Park West and 90th Street to the 72nd Street Transverse in Central Park. Rolling hills throughout. Although certified, the course is not record-eligible with 1.53m/km elevation loss (1m/km is the limit). Course map is here: FIELD SIZE: Nearly 12,000 women have entered, a race record, but organizers expect about 9,000 finishers. Unlike last year, when there were 454 male finishers, men were not permitted to enter this year. The race record for finishers is 8,885 in 2019.

EVENT RECORDS: Open Division, 30:29, Asmae Leghzaoui (MAR), 2002 (original course from Columbus Circle to Tavern on the Green); Wheelchair Division, 21:10, Susannah Scaroni, 2022.

COURSE RECORD: Open Division, 30:43, Senbere Teferi (ETH), 2022; Wheelchair Division, 21:10, Susannah Scaroni, 2022.

PHOTO: The start of the 2022 Mastercard New York Mini 10-K (photo by David Monti for Race Results Weekly)

USATF CHAMPIONSHIPS: The race hosted the USATF Championships once in 2019 and Sara Hall was the winner in 32:27.<>P>

Open/USA Divisions:
. Hellen Obiri (KEN), Boulder, Colo., 30:15 PB
. Senbere Teferi (ETH), Addis Ababa, 30:38
. Sharon Lokedi (KEN), Flagstaff, Ariz., 30:52
. Keira D'Amato, Midlothian, Va. 31:03
. Edna Kiplagat (KEN/40+), Longmont, Colo., 31:06
. Emily Sisson, Flagstaff, Ariz. 31:29
. Cynthia Limo (KEN), Iten, Kenya, 31:39
. Emily Durgin, Flagstaff, Ariz. 31:49
. Nell Rojas, Boulder, Colo., 31:52
. Dom Scott (RSA), Boulder, Colo. 31:58
. Kellyn Taylor, Flagstaff, Ariz., 32:34
. Marielle Hall, Providence, R.I., 32:51
. Susanna Sullivan, Reston, Va., 33:02
. Des Linden, Charlevoix, Mich., 33:06
. Beverly Ramos (PUR) San Juan, Puerto Rico, 33:17
. Laura Galvan (MEX), Leon, Mexico, 33:30
. Tristin Van Ord, Blowing Rock, N.C., 34:14+
Wheelchair Division:
. Susannah Scaroni, Champaign, Ill., 21:10
. Jenna Fesemyer, Champaign, Ill., 24:34
. Hannah Dederick, Champaign. Ill., 25:29
. Michelle Wheeler, Dallas, Tx., 26:13

. Grete Waitz (NOR), 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1984
. Tegla Loroupe (KEN), 1993, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2000
. Lornah Kiplagat (KEN/NED), 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007
. Susannah Scaroni (USA), 2018, 2019, 2021, 2022 (wheelchair division)
. Mary Keitany (KEN), 2015, 2017, 2018
. Linet Masai (KEN), 2010, 2011
. Delillah Asiago (KEN), 1991, 1995
. Ingrid Kristiansen (NOR), 1986, 1988
. Molly Huddle (USA), 2014
. Deena Kastor (USA), 2004
. Paula Radcliffe (GBR), 2001
. Anne-Marie Lauck (USA), 1994
. Liz McColgan (GBR), 1992
. Francie Larrieu (USA), 1985
 30:29  Asmae Leghzaoui (MAR) 2002
 30:43  Senbere Teferi (ETH) 2022
 30:44  Lornah Kiplagat (KEN) 2002
 30:47  Paula Radcliffe (GBR) 2001
 30:48  Linet Masai (KEN) 2010
 30:52  Sharon Lokedi (KEN) 2022
 30:59  Mary Keitany (KEN) 2018
 31:00  Grete Waitz (NOR) 1980
 31:03  Keira D'Amato (USA) 2022
 31:08  Aliphine Tuliamuk (USA) 2022



Check out our FrontPage for all the latest running and triathlon news.

Top of Article
Runner's Web FrontPage